Tv & Film

Lily GladstoneHost Film Independent Spirit Award Nominees

Lily GladstoneHost Film Independent Spirit Award Nominees
Published 5 months ago on Jan 07, 2024

 Lily Gladstone, star of "Killers of the Flower Moon" and the honorary chair for the Spirit Awards on Feb. 25, along with Colman Domingo, star of "Rustin," co-hosted the event. They played a pivotal role in presenting Emerging Filmmaker Awards, distributing $75,000 in grants to filmmakers Monica Sorelle, Set Hernandez, and Monique Walton.

The prestigious Someone to Watch Award, sponsored by Stella Artois, was bestowed upon Monica Sorelle, the director of "Mountains." This accolade, celebrating its 30th year, aims to recognize a first-time narrative filmmaker with a unique vision, who is yet to receive adequate acknowledgment. Sorelle received a $25,000 unrestricted grant along with this honor.

Set Hernandez, the director of "unseen," secured the Truer Than Fiction Award. Now in its 29th year, this award is presented to a first-time director of nonfiction features who hasn't yet gained significant recognition. Hernandez was awarded a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

The Producers Award, sponsored by Bulleit Frontier Whiskey, was conferred upon Monique Walton. This award, established to honor emerging producers showcasing creativity, tenacity, and vision despite limited resources, is in its 27th year. Walton received a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Bulleit Frontier Whiskey, a consistent and prominent supporter of the Spirit Awards in recent years.

Josh Welsh, president of Film Independent, emphasized the importance of supporting independent artists facing considerable challenges. He stated, "Understanding the enormous challenges independent artists are facing, it’s essential that they are provided the resources to move forward with their artistic visions." Welsh praised the Emerging Filmmaker Awards for offering vital support to talented artists, enabling them to develop new work and thrive as singular creators.

The Spirit Awards, hosted by Aidy Bryant, a former Saturday Night Live alum, will be streamed live on the IMDb and Film Independent YouTube channels, as well as other social platforms. The show is backed by principal sponsor IMDbPro and official sponsors Bulleit Frontier Whiskey, Fiji Water, Miraval, and Stella Artois.

Notable personalities attending Saturday's beachside brunch included Todd Haynes, Jeffrey Wright, Erika Alexander, Cord Jefferson, Trace Lysette, Troy Kotsur, Zoe Lister-Jones, Dominique Fishback, James Marsden, Glenn and Jill Howerton, Dominic Sessa, Franz Rogowski, Da’Vine Joy Randolph, Pam Koffler, Celine Song, and others. The event showcased a celebration of emerging talent and the collaborative spirit within the independent film community.

What is the meaning of the Spirit Award?:

Without knowing the specific context, it's impossible to say for sure. There are countless "Spirit Awards" across various organizations, fields, and events. Some potential meanings include:

  • Celebrating community spirit and positive contributions: This is often seen in schools, workplaces, or community organizations.
  • Recognizing teamwork and dedication in sports or competitions: "Team Spirit Awards" acknowledge players who embody sportsmanship and support their teammates.
  • Highlighting artistic vision and independent filmmaking: The prestigious Independent Spirit Awards honor achievements in independent cinema.
  • Appreciating artistic expression and creative spirit: Awards in various fields like music, dance, or writing may recognize the unique spirit of an artist's work.

2. How do you qualify for an independent spirit award?:

Each award has its own specific criteria and eligibility requirements. For the Independent Spirit Awards, films must be produced with a budget under $25 million and meet other criteria outlined on their website:

Where is the independent spirit awards?:

The Independent Spirit Awards ceremony usually takes place in Santa Monica, California, but the location can vary. Check the official website for updates on the next ceremony location.

What is a team spirit award?:

A "Team Spirit Award" recognizes athletes or individuals who demonstrate exceptional teamwork, leadership, and support for their team, even if they may not have the highest individual stats. They embody the spirit of cooperation and camaraderie that contributes to team success.

Nominees and Winners:

For the upcoming 39th Independent Spirit Awards, nominations were announced on October 26th, 2023. You can find the full list of nominees and winners on the official website: [].

Independent Spirit Film Awards:

The Independent Spirit Awards celebrate the best in independent filmmaking. They honor films produced with a budget under $25 million, showcasing diverse voices and innovative storytelling.

Spirit Awards Best Documentary:

Past winners of the Best Documentary award include "Icarus," "O.J.: Made in America," and "Won't You Be My Neighbor?". Learn more about past winners and nominees on the official website.

Independent Spirit Awards Info:

Spirit Awards Hosts:

The hosts of the 39th Independent Spirit Awards haven't been announced yet. Stay tuned for updates on the official website or social media platforms.

Spirit Awards Walker:

The Spirit Awards Walker is a prestigious honor given to a filmmaker who has made significant contributions to independent cinema. Past recipients include John Waters, Spike Lee, and Jane Campion.

Independent Spirit Awards Time:

The 39th Independent Spirit Awards ceremony will take place on February 25th, 2024, at 8:00 PM PST.

38th Independent Spirit Awards Videos:

You can find highlights and videos from the 38th Independent Spirit Awards on their YouTube channel:


  • Written news comments are in no way it does not reflect the opinions and thoughts of. Comments are binding on the person who wrote them.